

DISCLAIMER

The Council of the Shire of Katanning hereby advises that before taking any action on an application or a decision of the Council, any applicant or members of the public should wait for written advice from the Council.

Table of Contents

Item No.	Item Heading	Page
		No.
1	Declaration of Opening/Announcement of Visitors	
2	Election of President	
3	Election of Deputy President	
4	Seating Arrangement for Council Chambers (Councillors)	
5	Record of Attendance	
6	Public Questions / Statement Time	
7	Declarations of Interest	
8	Matters Requiring a Council Decision	
8.1	Appointment of Council Standing Committees	
8.2	Appointment of Council Advisory Committees	
8.3	Appointment of Council Working Groups	
8.4	Appointment of Non-Council Committees	
9	Urgent Business	
10	Closure of Meeting	

1. DECLARATION OF OPENING/ ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISTORS

The Chief Executive Officer Julian Murphy opened the meeting at 6:00pm. He thanked Doug Cherry JP for being available to swear in the new Councillors.

2. ELECTION OF PRESIDENT

Two nominations for the position of President were received in writing by the Chief Executive Officer prior to the meeting from Councillor Guidera and Councillor Godfrey. The Chief Executive Officer called for further nominations. No further nominations were received at the meeting.

The Chief Executive Officer conducted the election of the President by secret ballot. Councillor Guidera received 5 votes and Councillor Godfrey received 4 votes. The Chief Executive Officer declared Councillor Guider duly elected President of the Shire of Katanning.

Councillor Guidera made a declaration of office in accordance with section 2.29 of the Local Government Act 1995 before Mr Doug Cherry JP.

Councillor Guidera took the chair at 6:08pm.

3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY PRESIDENT

One nomination for the position of Deputy President was received in writing by the Chief Executive Officer prior to the meeting from Councillor McKinley. The President called for further nominations. No further nominations were received at the meeting.

There being no further nominations, the President declared Councillor McKinley duly elected as Deputy President of the Shire of Katanning.

Councillor McKinley made a declaration of office in accordance with section 2.29 of the Local Government Act 1995 before Mr Doug Cherry JP.

4. SEATING ARRANGEMENT FOR COUNCIL CHAMBERS (COUNCILLORS)

The Chief Executive Officer drew lots for seating arrangements in the Council Chambers. The Shire President and Deputy Shire President seats remained as custom.

The following seating arrangements were determined.

Deputy Chief Executive Officer	Shire President Cr Liz Guidera	Chief Executive Officer	Minute Taker
Cr Serena Sandwell	8	1	Deputy Shire President Cr Craig McKinley
Cr Alep Mydie	7	2	Cr Richard Kowald
Cr Martin Van Koldenhoven	6	3	Cr Danny McGrath

Cr Owen Boxall

4

Cr Robert Godfrey

5. **RECORD OF ATTENDANCE**

5

PRESENT

Members:	President – Cr Liz Guidera Deputy President – Craig McKinley Cr Danny McGrath Cr Owen Boxall Cr Richard Kowald Cr Alep Mydie Cr Robert Godfrey Cr Martin Van Koldenhoven Cr Serena Sandwell
Council Officers:	Andrew Holden, Deputy Chief Executive Officer Uwe Striepe, Director of Engineering & Development Services Sam Davis, Executive Manager – Strategic Projects Diana Marsh, Manager of Finance
Gallery:	
Media:	
Apologies:	Sarah Taylor, Director of Corporate and Community Services

Leave of Absence:

6. **PUBLIC QUESTIONS / STATEMENT TIME**

Sophie Clapin from the Great Southern Herald asked the President what kind of feelings she had and how would she like to see the Shire. President Liz Guidera asked if she would like to have an interview after the meeting but said that it was a good time in Local Government and that the Shire had a lot of projects on the go and some new potential ones. She said there is a will within the council to get a swift resolution of the issues in the main street and looks forward to putting it behind and looks forward to the next in coming months. She was very grateful in the confidence the community has in her.

Daphne Kerin congratulated President Liz Guidera and said she was pleased that Katanning would go up now and wished all the Councillors all the best of luck.

5

7. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Nil.

8. MATTERS REQUIRING A COUNCIL DECISION

8.1 Appointment of Council Standing Committees

Membership of committees was determined in accordance with Council's Election of Committees Policy.

Management Review Committee (Meeting - when required)

President Liz Guidera Deputy President Craig McKinley Cr Danny McGrath Cr Owen Boxall

<u>Audit & Risk Committee</u> (Meeting – When the audit report is distributed)

President Liz Guidera Deputy President Craig McKinley Cr Robert Godfrey Cr Owen Boxall Cr Richard Kowald Cr Danny McGrath Cr Alep Mydie Cr Serena Sandwell Cr Martin Van Koldenhoven

<u>Citizen of the Year Committee</u> (Meeting – November / December)

Cr Alep Mydie Cr Danny McGrath Cr Serena Sandwell

8.2 Appointment of Council Advisory Committees

Membership of committees was determined in accordance with Council's Election of Committees Policy.

<u>Community Financial Assistance Advisory Committee</u> (Meeting – Twice a year)

Cr Martin Van Koldenhoven Cr Danny McGrath Cr Robert Godfrey Katanning Bushfire Advisory Committee (Meeting – Twice a year)

Cr Owen Boxall Ian Knapp (Chief Fire Control Officer) Tim Clegg (Deputy Fire Control Officer) Geoff Stade (Deputy Chief Fire Control Officer)

Local Emergency Management Committee (Meeting – quarterly)

Cr Martin Van Koldenhoven

Katanning Early Childhood Hub (Meeting – once a month)

President Liz Guidera Cr Serena Sandwell

<u>SuperTown Project Advisory Group</u> (Meeting – once a month)

President Liz Guidera Cr Richard Kowald

8.3 Appointment of Council Working Groups

Membership of committees was determined in accordance with Council's Election of Committees Policy.

Town Hall and Admin Working Group (Meeting – when required)

Cr Robert Godfrey Cr Craig McKinley Cr Serena Sandwell

<u>Saleyards Operations User Group</u> (Meeting – when required)

Cr Richard Kowald Cr Owen Boxall Rod Bushell (Saleyard Manager) Heather McCarley (Canteen Operator) +1 Non Council Member

Katanning Leisure Centre User Group (Meeting – twice a year)

Cr Craig McKinley

21 October 2015

Christmas Decorations

(Meeting – twice a year)

Cr Danny McGrath Cr Robert Godfrey Cr Martin Van Koldenhoven

<u>Piesse Lake Reference Group</u> (Meeting – when required)

Cr Serena Sandwell Cr Robert Godfrey

<u>Welcome Precinct</u> (Meeting – when required)

Cr Alep Mydie Cr Liz Guidera

Economic Development Working Group (Meeting – when required)

Julian Murphy GSDC Cr Craig McKinley Cr Richard Kowald

8.4 Appointment of Non-Council Committees

Membership of committees was determined in accordance with Council's Election of Committees Policy.

WALGA (Meeting – quarterly)

President Liz Guidera Cr Richard Kowald Cr Owen Boxall (Proxy)

Roadwise Committee (Meeting – every 2 months)

Cr Danny McGrath

Katanning LCDC (Meeting – once a month)

Cr Serena Sandwell

<u>Great Southern Regional Road Group</u> (Meeting – twice a year)

Cr Liz Guidera

Cr Owen Boxall (Proxy)

<u>Great Southern Regional Recreation Advisory Committee</u> (Meeting – quarterly)

Cr Serena Sandwell Cr Richard Kowald (Proxy)

<u>Hidden Treasures</u> (Meeting – when required)

Cr Martin Van Koldenhoven

Katanning Action Network (Meeting – once a month)

Cr Alep Mydie Cr Craig McKinley

9. URGENT BUSINESS

Nil.

10. CLOSURE OF MEETING

The Presiding Member declared the meeting closed at 6:29pm